Just Like We Told You Months Ago: Old 97's Plan To Release Grand Theatre, Vol. 2 On July 5

Categories: DFW Music News
Old97sMusink.jpg
Patrick Michels
Old 97's back at the 2010 Musink festival in Fair Park
Lest you doubted our note from way, way, way, way back in March -- y'know, that the Old 97's were going to release the second installment of their two-part Grand Theatre release on July 5 -- well, now the folks putting out the record, New West Records, have confirmed as much.

Says frontman Rhett Miller of the new release in the just-sent-out presser, "[Volume Two] expands on the themes found in Volume One both sonically and lyrically... We delved further into our experiments in gritty garage rock and at times spun further into lush psychedelia.  Like Volume One, you'll find narratives that are stunted and strange."

That's a bit of a change what what Miller's been telling us to expect all along -- but, hey, given that the first installment of the two-part release got the kind of rave reviews that the band hasn't seen since the '90s, maybe a little updating was to be expected.

After the jump, check out the release in full, as it includes some interesting notes -- like the fact that one of the songs on the new disc is kind of a sequel to one of the ones on the old one, and that another song is kind of Monty Python-inspired -- as well the band's upcoming tour schedule, which interestingly enough, has no Dallas-proper date on it at the moment, go figure.

OLD 97'S
PRESENT
THE GRAND THEATRE VOL. 2

New Album Available July 5 From New West Records

Additional Tour Dates Announced Including Sasquatch, Summerfest and Outside Lands
 
May 5, 2011 - Los Angeles, CA - Old 97's introduce The Grand Theatre Vol. 2, their ninth studio album, available July 5th via New West Records.  The new record is a companion to the critically acclaimed The Grand Theatre Volume One, which received 3 ½ stars in both Rolling Stone and American Songwriter.   Released less than a year since their last effort, The Grand Theatre Vol. 2 features 13 brand new songs and is once again produced by Salim Nourallah (The Grand Theatre Volume One and Blame It On Gravity.)
 
"Vol. 2 expands on the themes found in Volume One both sonically and lyrically," explains Miller.  "We delved further into our experiments in gritty garage rock and at times spun further into lush psychedelia.  Like Volume One, you'll find narratives that are stunted and strange."
 
Though the band originally conceptualized The Grand Theatre as a double album, they decided it would be wiser to release two volumes in quick succession in order to allow fans time to fully digest each. This decision gave the 97's an opportunity to polish the existing recordings, and to include a couple of brand-new songs, including the early audience favorite, "I'm A Trainwreck", and "Perfume," the first single planned from Vol. 2.  "Perfume," which could be described as a sequel to "The Dance Class", a song found on Volume One, is a classic Miller character study, seemingly happy with a dark twist.  An agoraphobic guy falls in love with a dancer who lives across the street.  He finally gets her, but he's trapped inside, jealously watching through the window as she lives it up.  The moral of the story? Be careful what you wish for.  An Old 97's record would not be complete without a contribution from bassist Murry Hammond. The light-hearted "White Port" is a Monty Python-esque number complete with hilarious Pirate vocals.
 
Old 97's, known for their vibrant live shows, continue to tour through the summer in support of The Grand Theatre Vol. 2.   The dates will be a mix of headline shows and festivals including the Sasquatch Festival and Outside Lands.
 
The Grand Theatre Vol. 2 Track List:
1. Brown Haired Daughter
2. I'm A Trainwreck
3. Perfume
4. The Actor
5. No Simple Machine
6. White Port
7. Ivy
8. Manhattan (I'm Done)
9. Marquita
10. Bright Spark (See What I Mean)
11. Visiting Hours
12. How Lovely All It Was
13. You Call It Rain

Tour Dates:
Rhett Solo
Thurs May 5    Santa Barbara, CA    Club Soho
Fri May 6    Big Sur, CA        Henry Miller Library
Sat May 7    San Francsico, CA    Swedish American Hall

Old 97's
Thurs May 26    Denver, CO        Bluebird Theater
Fri May 27    Denver CO        Bluebird Theater
Sat May 28    Salt Lake City, UT    Urban Lounge
Mon May 20    George, WA        Sasquatch Festival
Tues May 31    Spokane, WA        Bing Crosby Theater
Wed June 1    Portland, OR        Doug Fir
Fri June 3    Petaluma, CA        Mystic Theater
Sat June 4    Sacramento, CA    Harlow's
Sun June 5    San Juan Capistrano, CA The Coach House
Mon June 6    Scotsdale, AZ        Martini Ranch
Tues June 7    Tucson, AZ        Plush
Thurs June 9    San Antonio, TX    Sam's Burger Joint
Fri June 10    Austin, TX        La Zona Rosa
Sat June 11    Lubbock, TX        The Blue Light
Sun June 26    Ft Worth TX        Ft. Worth Botanic Garden
Thurs July 7    Milwaukee, WI        Summerfest
Fri July 8    Nashville, TN        Mercy Lounge
Sat July 9    Nashville, TN        Mercy Lounge
Mon July 11    Baltimore, MD        Rams Head Live
Tues July 12    Asbury Park, NJ    Stone Pony
Wed July 13    Brooklyn NY        The Bell House
Thurs July 14    Brooklyn NY        The Bell House
Fri July 15    Wellfleet, MA        Beachcomber
Sat July 16    Greenfield, MA        Green River Festival
Mon July 18    Chicago, IL        Lincoln Hall
Tues July 19    Chicago, IL        Lincoln Hall
Wed July 20    Minneapolis, MN    First Avenue
Thurs July 21    Kansas City, MO    Crossroads
Sat July 23    Dallas, TX        Texas Rangers / After Game Concert
Sat Aug 13    San Francisco, CA    Outside Lands Festival


My Voice Nation Help
4 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest
MattL1
MattL1

I see a some free days in there for them to do an album release here in town.

truthseeker
truthseeker

they are playing the botanical gardens in ft. worth in june. better wear a swimsuit to that one!

Now Trending

From the Vault

 

Dallas Event Tickets
Loading...