Show Announcements: Robert Plant, Green Day and More

robert-plant-nc.jpg
Former Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant now has a new band featuring a well-respected female Americana singer, but her name isn't Alison Krauss.

Rather, Patty Griffin has been in the studio with Plant--along with Darrell Scott, Byron House, Marco Giovino and Buddy Miller--as The Band of Joy, which will release the follow-up to Plant's and Krauss' multi-platinum, multiple Grammy-winning 2007 collaboration Raising Sand. To preview material from the forthcoming Band of Joy album, the Plant-led group is playing a dozen U.S. dates in the South, including a performance Friday, July 23, at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas. Tickets go on sale through Live Nation at 10 a.m. Monday, April 12, and range from $65 to $95.

Later in the summer, fresh off the band's 2010 Best Rock Album Grammy win for 21st Century Breakdown, and just months after the stage version of American Idiot opens April 20 (the greenest day of them all) on Broadway, Green Day will hit the road for a North American tour that makes a Dallas stop at Superpages.com Center on Thursday, August 26, with support from AFI.

Tickets go on sale at 10 a.m. Friday, April 2, through Live Nation. Prices range from $35 for lawn seats to $85.

After the jump, more show announcements.

The Granada Theater
Thursday, April 22 -- Yann Tiersen, Typhoon
Friday, April 30 -- Keith Emerson and Greg Lake (second show added)
Thursday, May 6 -- Ramblin' Jack Elliot
Friday, May 14 -- Marcia Ball
Friday, May 21 -- Mason Jennings
Friday, May 28 -- Devin The Dude, The Coughee Brothaz, DJ A1, Suite 420 Tour
Tuesday, June 15 -- Josh Ritter
Thursday, July 1 -- The Psychedelic Furs, She Wants Revenge

House of Blues
Saturday, May 22 -- World Series of Metal Featuring Texas Hippie Coalition, Lord Tracy, more

The Loft
Sunday, May 23 -- Laura Marling
Thursday, May 27 -- Cute Is What We Aim For

The Majestic Theatre
Saturday, May 1 -- Herman's Hermits
Friday, June 18 -- Sarah Geronimo

Nokia Theatre, Grand Prairie
Friday, July 16 -- "Weird Al" Yankovich

Superpages.com Center
Thursday, August 26 -- Green Day

Uncle Calvin's Coffeehouse
Friday, April 9 -- The Waymores
Friday, April 16 -- Robin & Linda Williams, John Wort Hannam
Friday, April 23 -- Tim Grimm
Friday, April 30 -- Diana Jones, Nels Andrews .
Friday, May 7 -- Cliff Eberhardt
Friday, May 21 -- Natalia Zukerman, Jason Wilber


My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Now Trending

From the Vault

 

Dallas Event Tickets
Loading...